The Nunavut Wildlife Management Board (NWMB or Board) is an Institution of Public Government established in 1994. The NWMB was established in accordance with the Nunavut Agreement, which was ratified on May 25, 1993. The Board is the main instrument of wildlife management in the Nunavut Settlement Area (NSA) and is a co-management Board that consists of nine appointed members.  The Board and its co-management partners work together to combine the knowledge and understanding of wildlife managers, users, and the public to make decisions concerning the management of wildlife in Nunavut.

Subject to the ultimate authority of the relevant Minister, the NWMB is the main instrument of wildlife management and the main regulator of access to wildlife in the Nunavut Settlement Area (NSA). The NSA comprises the major part of the Territory of Nunavut. It encompasses an area spanning more than 1.9 million square kilometres, including the marine areas of the Arctic Archipelago and the 12-mile territorial sea adjacent to Nunavut. In addition, approximately forty-three percent of Canada’s ocean coastline is found within the NSA -104,000 out of a total of 243,000 kilometres. 

The NWMB also has an advisory role with respect to marine management which occurs in Zones I and II and adjacent marine areas. Zones I and II are large marine regions, each comprising hundreds of thousands of square kilometres. Zone I refers to those waters north of 61 degrees latitude subject to Canada’s jurisdiction seaward of the territorial sea boundary, that are not part of the NSA or another land claim settlement area. Zone II refers to the waters of James Bay, Hudson Bay and Hudson Strait that are not part of the NSA or another land claim settlement area.

The NWMB vision is “conserving wildlife through the application of Inuit Qaujimajatuqangit and scientific knowledge."

Login Form


Catalogue of resource wildlife management materials